ManagementMania AppMania EduMania JobMania BusinessPages

What is CMM (Capability Maturity Model)
CMM (Capability Maturity Model) is six-degree evaluation of process maturity in the organization.

CMM (Capability Maturity Model) is a six-degree evaluation of process maturity in the organization. It was originally developed for software development maturity of Carnegie Mellon University.

There are six (or just five) basic levels as follows:

  • 0 - lack of management: Processes and their management is completely chaotic
  • 1 - Initial: Processes are implemented ad hoc
  • 2 - Repeated: Certain discipline necessary to perform basic repetitive processes is complied
  • 3 - Defined: The processes of the organization are documented
  • 4 - Managed: The processes are managed and carried out to measure their performance through KPI
  • 5 - Optimized: Processes are continually improved, there is an innovation cycle for processes and management

Related terms and methods:

previous next
Other information and sources (International)
Did this article help you?
Last update: 05.11.2015


To enter the discussion you must be signed in

Sign in

Related consulting companiesmore...
We can do it